Medusa

129-Medusa-small.png

Normally when I paint skin, I use lots of layers of different colours with different blend modes (e.g. blue around the chin, on Overlay). This time, I wanted to mimic not being able to do that; painting just with normal layers. I also wanted to take advantage of the tricks our eyes play on us, and instead of varying hue, I tried only to vary chroma (and, to a lesser degree, value). The face is painted only with reds and yellows of different chroma; the irises have some blue, and the snakes have green.

So what do you think?

