Roast Almond and Fruity Tea Macarons

nom nom nom

This was my attempt at making macarons more similar to what you see in the shops. I knew that my almond meal was too coarse and moist, so I put the almond meal spread over a tray in the oven at 150°C. Previously I had tried this for 5 minutes, but the almond meal hadn’t dried enough, so this time I thought I’d wing it and take it out when it ‘felt ready’. After about 15 minutes or so, the almond meal started to smell of roast almonds and had turned slightly golden, so I decided to use this and make roast almond macarons 😀

I also had some tea I needed to use up. I remember the coffee truffles I’d made recently, and decided that I could use that ratio of chocolate to butter, just replacing coffee-water with tea-water.

The thing about this ganache is that instead of using cream and chocolate, you use water, butter and chocolate. Butter is very, very basically cream with less water. So if you want to add flavoured water, you replace the cream with butter and add a proportional amount of your water, then re-emulsify by stirring it all together with melted chocolate.

This brings me to something else: when you brown butter, the water evaporates. So if you want to make a brown-butter ganache (which, I think, would go very nicely with roast almond macarons!) you need to add more water for the same soft consistency.

The water I added for the truffles resulted in quite a firm ganache, but for macarons I want the ganache to be a bit softer, so I added more water.

argh, the light, it burns!

Roast Almond and Fruity Tea Macarons

  • Servings: makes ... approximately 24; I can't remember
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients

Macaron shells

  • 225g icing sugar
  • 125g almond meal
  • 100g egg white
  • 25g sugar

Ganache

  • 200g dark chocolate
  • 75mL water
  • 1 – 2 teabags of your choice
  • 10g butter

Method

  • Spread the almond meal over a wide tray and oven at 150°C for half an hour so that it smells of roasted almonds.
  • Remove the almond from the oven and let cool completely.
  • In a food processor, grind the almond meal and icing sugar until very fine.
  • Whip the eggs whites until foamy.
  • Add the sugar (not the icing sugar).
  • Whip to stiff peaks.
  • Sift in the almond meal and icing sugar.
  • Pipe the macarons as 2.5cm rounds, 5cm apart.
  • Drop the tray firmly on the benchtop.
  • Allow to rest 1 hour and preheat the oven to 200°C.
  • Bake macarons at 130°C for 20 – 25 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, make the ganache by steeping the tea in the water.
  • Melt the chocolate and butter and stir in the tea.
  • Allow the ganache to become firm in the fridge.
  • Remove the macarons from the oven and allow to cool for at least 45 minutes.
  • Spread ganache on macarons.
  • Rest completed macarons overnight.

2 thoughts on “Roast Almond and Fruity Tea Macarons

So what do you think?

