Orange Hazelnut Truffles

Welp, it’s Christmas time again, my favourite time of yeeeaaarrrr ♪♫ …yeah. You probably don’t know that song. Courtesy of my having been in a choir, I now know many obscure Christmas songs. For each Christmas post I make this Christmas, I’ll share some lyrics of an obscure Christmas song, and you can try and guess whether you know it or not 😛

chomp

After the success of my orange-hazelnut pound cake, I decided to make some truffles with the hazelnut ganache from my Ferrero Rocher macarons.

As before, I browned the butter.

burn, baby, burn!

I added the butter to roasted and ground hazelnuts, with some very finely grated orange zest, orange essence and orange liqueur. Next, I stirred in the melted chocolate.

oh my, so good!

If you use a sweet orange liqueur like curaçao, use a mixture of dark and milk chocolate. Otherwise, less-sweet liqueurs can stand the sweetness of milk chocolate.

001

Orange Hazelnut Truffles

  • Servings: 24
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients
80g butter
150g hazelnuts
1 Tbs orange zest
3 tsp orange essence
2 Tbs orange liqueur
200g chocolate

Orange sugar (to coat)

Method
Brown the butter in a saucepan.
Roast the hazelnuts at 135°C for half an hour.
Remove the hazelnuts from the oven, and wrap them in a thick tea towel for 10 minutes.
Use the tea towel to rub off the skins.
Blend the hazelnuts in a food processor. Stir in a tablespoon of butter, and the orange ingredients, and blend.
Melt the chocolate and stir in the hazelnut paste over a double boiler.
Fold in the remaining butter.
Allow to sit overnight in the fridge.
Roll ganache into balls.
Refrigerate until firm.
Roll in orange sugar.

One thought on “Orange Hazelnut Truffles

So what do you think?

