Linzer Torte

After last week, I had a lot of hazelnut meal left. I’ve been making chocolate pudding with it (to have with some sour cherry fake blood I was given for Halloween…) but that seemed a bit of a waste.

So I went looking, and to help me look I decided to hire the roughest, toughest bounty hunter… I went to my favourite place to find recipes: Joe Pastry

Here it was that I found the Linzer torte. What is it? Well, at first glance, it’s a jam tart with criss-crossing pastry on top of the jam. At first bite, it’s more cake-y with a nutty flavour to round off the jam. As Joe says, it’s conventional to have almonds in the shortcrust, with almond cream under the jam, but this being the busiest time of the year for me, I limited it to one layer, and of course, I used hazelnuts.

013

I used a spring-form tin on a lined tray with no bottom, so it was a lot easier to remove.

001

Remember to add your eggs one by one, so that the butter properly mixes.

004

It’s okay to be messy piping your base; you’re going to cover it, anyway!

005

Om nom nom 😀 Don’t eat it straight out of the oven because the jam will be molten.

008

Joe said red currant jam is traditional; I used raspberry, but I didn’t want it overly sweet, so I added some lemon juice, balsamic and apple cider vinegar, mixed with a little cornflour so it didn’t become too liquid.

007

I had extra batter left over, so I piped cookies. Guess which initial is mine! We ate the cookies with a custard made from the remaining egg white, and raspberry filling.

011

Just look at that drool-worthy goodness ^_^

015

Linzer Torte

  • Servings: 8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients
Batter
255g ground hazelnuts/almonds
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cloves
290g plain flour
20g cornflour
1 tsp lemon zest
285g butter
225g sugar
2 eggs
2 egg yolks
egg white

Jam filling
1/2 cup raspberry jam
1 tsp cornflour
lemon juice/balsamic/apple cider vinegar, to taste

Method
Sift the flours and spices together. Stir in the ground nuts and zest.
In a separate bowl, beat the butter and sugar, then add the 2 eggs and 2 egg yolks one at a time, beating in between.
Fold the flour mixture into the butter mixture.
Line a tray with baking paper and place a lined tart ring or spring-form tin without the bottom on the tray.
Pipe on the batter.
Bake at 190°C for 15 minutes.
While hot, spread on a thin coat of egg white to prevent the jam leaching.
Slather on the jam, leaving a 1cm margin.
Pipe on batter edging around the jam, and a lattice on top.
Bake for 25 minutes at 190°C.
Allow to cool completely.

6 thoughts on “Linzer Torte

So what do you think?

