Rustic Pumpkin Cupcakes

After the cumquats come the pumpkins.

The recipe I used called for buckwheat flour – but I don’t have that. Instead, I decided to make up my own mix of what I had lying around the house to try and create a similar effect… and it turned out pretty well! 😀

Cupcake

When a carrot or pumpkin cake recipe tells you to grate, it’s better just to chuck the vegetable in the food processor. Grating can leave you long strips that ruin the cake’s integrity.

'grated' pumpkin

Also, I used butternut pumpkin. I don’t know whether other pumkins will work, but they should do… 🙂

Unfortunately, I was feeling lazy, and filled the muffin pan up to the top. The result was puddles of flat cake on top. I cut the weird edges off, but the cupcake looks a bit jagged around the edge… that’ll teach me! =_=”

Rustic Pumpkin Cupcakes

  • Servings: 16
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Recipe from Victoria’s Cake Boutique

Ingredients
105g plain flour
40g almond meal
40g wheat germ
2 eggs
165mL oil (or browned butter 😀 )
210g brown sugar
270g grated pumpkin
75g walnuts and almonds, chopped
2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground nutmeg
pinch salt

Method
Whisk egg, sugar and oil until light and frothy.
Stir in nuts and pumpkin, and then add the remaining ingredients.
Mix thoroughly.
Pour into tin and bake 35 – 40 minutes, at 150°C.
Cool in tin on a wire rack before removing.

So what do you think?

