Tarte Poire Chocolat

Tarte Poire Chocolat

I was in Laos a while ago, and while Laotian food isn’t one of my favourite cuisines, there is something to be said for the bakeries in Luang Prabang. Namely, the Scandinavian Bakery, Croissant d’Or and Le Banneton. For breakfast, my sister and I enjoyed a chicken sandwich from the Scandinavian Bakery – the best I have ever had, with curry sauce and mayonnaise – and a pastry from Le Banneton. Now, I ordered chausson poire chocolat (thank the world for my rudimentary French skills…) but was given an apple pastry instead. I wasn’t completely unhappy, per se – the appelmoes on the inside was brilliant – but I knew I had to try something with chocolate and pear another time.

This is that time 😀

Cadbury and Lindt both have recipes on their respective websites for a variety of dishes. I considered the chocolate tart recipes on both websites, and eventually chose Cadbury’s – Lindt called for a lot more egg yolks, and I didn’t feel like making something with the whites later.

I love my pastry cutter. My food processor is quite small, so for large quantities of pastry, I just use my pastry cutter. Have I told you how much I love making pastry? 😀 This one is even easier than my usual flan pastry recipe because of all the almond meal and cornflour. Almond meal and cornflour don’t develop gluten as easily as wheat flour because, well, gluten is in wheat. This means you can get away with rougher handling.

034

I have my own method for separating eggs. I put the egg into a bowl, then put a plate on top, and tip it sideways to allow the white to flow out. Less risk of catching the yolk on a sharp eggshell edge that way.

035  038

Sorry for the blurriness 🙂 I chose to warm my cream, eggs and custard powder, and then take the mixture off the heat and stir in the chocolate. It’s got something to do with tempering… I can’t remember why I started this habit, but now I always use this process to make ganache. At first it seems not to be melting, but eventually it’s all good.

040   043

I couldn’t be bothered using rice as weights for the individual tarts when blind baking. Instead, I just firmly pressed a metal Texas muffin tin into my silicon muffin tin with the pastry in between.

044

Tarte Poire Chocolat

  • Servings: 6 individual + 1 large
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Recipe adapted from Cadbury

Ingredients
Pastry
1½ cups flour
1 cup cornflour
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup almond meal
Pinch baking powder
180g butter, chopped
2 eggs

Filling
8 egg yolks
2 tablespoons custard powder
1/3 cup sugar
600ml thickened cream
440g dark chocolate, chopped
4 Beurré Bosc pears, sliced thinly
1 Tbs icing sugar, to sprinkle

Method
Pastry
With a food processor or pastry cutter, blend the flour, cornflour, sugar, almond meal, baking powder and butter until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
Add eggs and blend again.
Turn onto a surface and gently knead to form dough.
Wrap in clingwrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
Remove pastry from fridge and allow to sit until slightly malleable.
Roll out pastry and transfer to cooking dishes.
Prick bases and blind bake at 200°C for 10 minutes.

Filling
In a small bowl, combine custard powder and some cream so that the custard powder completely dissolves and forms a thick slurry with no lumps.
Pour into a saucepan and combine with yolks, sugar and remaining cream. Simmer until thickened.
Remove from the heat, add the chocolate and stir.
Pour filling into prepared pastry and bake at 160°C for 15 minutes.
Arrange pear on top, sprinkle with sugar, and bake for a further 5 – 10 minutes at 210°C.
Allow to cool in tin before removing.

Serve with cream whipped with vanilla and sugar.

7 thoughts on “Tarte Poire Chocolat

So what do you think?

