Individual Passionfruit Tarts with Coffee Pastry

I’ve got a lovely bunch of passionfruit… ♪♫

Yep, just as I finished with the last bunch of passionfruit, I was brought a whole bag more. -_- I’m sort of running out of ideas here, because I really don’t want to make icing, cake or cookies with the passionfruit; I want to use them up as fast as I can and most recipes only call for a few passionfruit per dish.

Now this flavour combination may not appeal to everyone, but I and my sister really like it. The bitterness of the coffee off-sets the sweetness of the passionfruit, which also brings a tangy note to the dessert. I also added all-spice to the pastry, in the hopes that it would marry the coffee and passionfruit a bit more – both coffee and passionfruit are related in flavour to all-spice (passionfruit is sweet, and goes with berries like all-spice; coffee also has some subtle berry flavours in it, under all the bitterness). If you’re a visual thinker, think of it this way: if you’re going to mix complementary colours, you’ve got to off-set the clash with a colour from between the two on the colour spectrum. AquaSixio from DeviantArt explains this.

Sorry, but this time I don’t have as many photos as I usually do. I was busy trying to create my passionfruit filling, and forgot to take pictures =_=”

I created the passionfruit filling myself, so it’s a completely original recipe. The annoying thing about it, though, is that when you cook passionfruit, the juice loses that wonderful orange colour and turns sickly yellow. As well as this, I used cornflour to thicken the filling, and so I wasn’t completely sure how thick it would be until I cooled it. One thing to remember is to KEEP STIRRING. Otherwise, the eggs will separate from the rest of the mix, and then it will cook, and you’ll have lumps of eggs floating around.

015

To make the coffee pastry, I used a normal sweet flan pastry (the same one I used for the lemon tart), and substituted 2Tbs of flour for 2Tbs of coffee, ground finely. It might look grainy when you start, but after refrigerating and rolling the pastry, the coffee dissolves and colours the pastry a nice brown colour. Sorry again, not pictures here. I used a Texas muffin tin as the pastry moulds.

The finer the grains in your pastry, the more crumbly but less flaky it will be. If you blend the pastry dough in a food processor, it will be quite crumbly. This is because the ‘grains’ are actually lumps of butter. When you cook the pastry, these lumps melt and form bubbles of air in the pastry, creating lots of layers, which lead to the flakiness. The bigger the grains, the more separated the layers. Also, try not to mix the pastry too much, or you run the risk of developing gluten, which will cause your pastry to be chewy.

Passionfruit Coffee Tart

Individual Passionfruit Tarts with Coffee Pastry

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Pastry recipe from Michel Roux’s Pastry.

Ingredients:
Pastry
250g plain flour, less 2Tbs
100g butter, cubed and slightly softened
100g icing sugar, sifted
Pinch of salt
2 eggs, at room temperature
2Tbs coffee, finely ground
2 tsp all-spice

Passionfruit Filling
200g butter, chopped
400g sugar
4Tbs cornflour
4 eggs, whisked
1 cup passionfruit
pinch lemon zest

Method
Pastry
Sift the flour into a bowl or onto a bench top and make a well.
Pour in the butter, icing sugar, salt, coffee and spice.
Mix with your fingertips, drawing the flour in from the edges, until the dough is slightly grainy.
Make another well, and stir in the eggs.
Knead a couple of times until the dough is smooth, then wrap it in clingwrap for 2 hours or more.
While the pastry cools, make the filling.

Filling
Mix the cornflour with a little bit of passionfruit juice, until there are no lumps.
Add the eggs and lemon zest.
In a saucepan, melt the butter and add the sugar.
Pour in the passionfruit mix.
Cook on medium, stirring constantly, until the mix boils.
Bring down to a simmer, and continue cooking and mixing until the mixture resembles a smooth paste.
Remove from the heat.

Assemblage
Roll out your pastry, and refrigerate for an hour.
Using a cookie cutter, cut out circles of pastry and fit to your moulds.
Bake for 10 minutes, or until sufficiently cooked.
While the pastry is still hot, spoon the filling into the pastry cases and allow to cool.
Once cooled, refrigerate the tarts overnight.
Serve cold.

Readers, when I write these, I have no idea how you guys feel about anything I do. Some feedback would be nice; is my writing understandable? what do you particularly want photos of in my process? do you have any requests or questions? etc. 🙂

So what do you think?

