The Woes of Food Poisoning

Don’t get me wrong; I’m all for embracing foreign cultures and mingling with the locals. But the one thing I always worry about when travelling is food poisoning. Initially, I’m the one you’ll see settling for warm drinks even on the hottest day, because I’m avoiding ice; the one washing my hands with bottled water; and using hand sanitiser even if I’m using cutlery.

But it doesn’t last long. By the end of the trip, I figure I’m well-adjusted to the local microscopic flora and fauna and I’ll be drinking fruit smoothies with the best of them.

Unfortunately, things don’t always go to plan. My friend, who is a lot like me in terms of hygiene managed – somehow! – to get food poisoning the night before we flew out, and ended up spending the morning of our return hunched over the toilet.

As I’m a food nut, my main focus was how she’d have to eat bland food at least until the antibiotics kicked in and the nausea subsided. The following is a poem/song about her experience.

The Woes of Food PoisoningSung to the tune of Don’t Cry for Me, Argentina

It wasn’t easy, I went insane
abstaining from full-flavoured meals.
A burden of illness brought on by bad food.

I couldn’t help it,
All I could feel was the nausea
rising up from my poor belly’s depths,
Threatening to let the food flow.

I couldn’t let it happen, I had to take
what was flavourless and savourless and plain.
Refusing curries with spices, and raisins with rum.

So I ate tasteless,
Nibbling at crumbs, and feeling so blue.
And nothing impressed me at all.
I never expected it to.

Chorus
I want to eat spicy pizza!
The truth is I’m sick of light food.
All through my mild days,
My bland subsistence,
I spurned great flavours,
A sad existence.

And as for sickness and food pois’ning
I never invited them in
though it seemed to my mum I had welcomed them.

I was stupid.
I wasn’t careful with food bought offshore.
I neglected to check the hygiene
and for some days had to eat like a bore.

Chorus
I want to eat spicy pizza!
The truth is I’m sick of light food.
All through my mild days,
My bland subsistence,
I spurned great flavours,
A sad existence.

Have I said too much?
I think I’ve said enough to put you off your food.
All you have to do now is check your meals,
And not let every mouthful through.

Insert orchestral conclusion Here.

So what do you think?

